QB transfer in

Mike Wright, a QB who has been at Mississippi State and Vanderbilt, will transfer to Northwestern for his senior year.

Guess that’s why Sullivan left?

But what happened to the Guy at our OC’s last school. I thought he was coming.

rsl

CoachRoySig.jpg

Gronowski announced several days ago that he was staying at SD State.

I wish we could recruit and develop a QB again… but then one of the other B1G schools would probably try to grab him if he was any good.

Go B1GCats
rsl

This is a scary thought, but what if the really big schools went after a star player on another school just to get them off the field?

Its the basic truth of College football, only 22 people are starters, the rest usually ride the bench for 4 years.

As a student, I remember looking across the field at all the skill players on other teams, and wondering if they had come to NU, would they be starters, and how much better would NU have been during those dark days.

And we see it with Sullivan jumping to Iowa to become a backup. I can understand the desire to become a starter, but to transfer and be immediately considered the backup seems to be a strange way to advance your career.

NU has had a bit of luck with transfer QB’s, but the ones who moved in and couldn’t adjust to an O-Line that was short handed, wound up as top recruits who never panned out. I would think that unless the coach told you to go, a player would be better served to stick it out and look to advance inside the system they started with.

Of course, if you are a Joe Flacco trying to play in a read option based offense, you eventually see the handwriting on the wall, and look for a more traditional offense. (Hey, It worked for him last year)

Go B1GCats
rsl

https://www.cbssports.com/college-football/news/college-football-rankings-georgia-ohio-state-oregon-lead-post-spring-top-25-ahead-of-2024-season/

Check out #16 Tennessee comment